Dependent Origination
and Emptiness

  Home   Contents   Reviews   Excerpts   Links   Glossary   $Dana   More  
One who sees dependent origination sees the Dhamma; one who sees the Dhamma sees dependent origination. MN 28.28

akālika – without involving time
anicca – inconstancy, ever-changing, impermanent
anattā – literally not-self; coreless, empty
arahant – a fully awakened one, a fully liberated one
āsava – intoxicant; also translated as outflow, influx, effluent, canker, taint
āsavakkhaye ñāṇa – the knowledge of the destruction of the āsavas
attā – self, ego, personality, in Buddhism a mere conventional expression, and not a designation for anything really existing, often synonymous with soul
avijjā – ignorance
āyatana – sphere of perception or sense in general
āyatanāni – plural of āyatana – often referring to the 6 senses (salāyatanā)
bhāva – becoming
bhavataṇhā – craving for becoming
brahma-vihāra – one of four meditation practices of loving-kindness, compassion, appreciative joy and equanimity
bhikkhu – a Buddhist monk
deva – heavenly being
dhammā – phenomena
Dhamma – the teaching of the Buddha and also “the way things truly are”
dukkha – bummer, unsatisfactoriness, stress, suffering
idappaccayatā – this-that conditionality; literally: having its foundation in this
idappaccayatāpaṭiccasamuppādo – this-that conditionality, dependent origination
jāti – birth
jhāna – literally: meditation; one of four (later eight) states of concentration
kamma (Pāli) / karma (Sanskrit) – action, deed, doing
kāmataṇhā – sensual craving
kāraṇa – (Sanskrit) constituent, reason, cause
khandha – one of the five aggregates: rūpa, vedanā, saññā, saṅkhārā & viññāṇa
maraṇa – death
mettā – loving-kindness, unconditional love
nāmarūpa – name-and-form, sometimes translated as “mind-and-body” or “mentality-and-materiality,” especially in the context of dependent origination
nibbāna (Pāli) / nirvana (Sanskrit) – literally “not burning,” i.e., not burning with the fires of greed, hate, or delusion; the goal of the holy life, the realization that brings an end to dukkha
nibbidā – disenchantment
pāmojja – gladness, worldly joy
paññā – wisdom
papañca – mental proliferation
passaddhi – tranquility
paṭiccasamuppāda – dependent origination
phassa – contact, sense-contact
pīti – glee, rapture
rūpa – materiality, body
salāyatanā – the six sense organs and the six sense objects (see also āyatana)
saṃsāra – worldly existence, the indefinitely repeating cycles of birth, dukkha, and death
saddhā – usually translated as “faith” but perhaps more accurately as “confidence” or “trust”
samādhi – indistractability, concentration
samuppāda – origin, arising, genesis, coming to be, production
saṃvega – spiritual urgency
sandiṭṭhika – visible here and now
saṅkhāra – concoction, fabrication
saññā – perception, conceptualization, naming, identifying
sati – mindfulness, remembering to be here now
sukha – happiness/joy
sukha & dukkha – pleasure and pain
sutta – discourse, teaching
Suttas – the second division of the Pāli Canon, consisting of discourses given by the Buddha or his closest disciples
taṇhā – craving (literally “thirst”)
Tathāgata – one arrived at suchness, a fully awakened one
udāna – exclamation, inspired utterance
upādāna – clinging, also fuel
uppāda – coming into existence, appearance, birth
upekkhā – equanimity (literally “gaze upon”)
vedanā – initial automatic mental response to sensory inputs as pleasant, unpleasant or neither-pleasant-nor-unpleasant; valence, feeling (but not emotion!)
vicāra – examining
vimutti – release, deliverance, emancipation, liberation
vipassanā – insight, an understood experience
virāga – dispassion, literally not-colored
viññāṇa – consciousness; occasionally it means “mind;” literally “divided knowing”
yathābhūtañāṇadassana – knowing and seeing things as they are, knowing and seeing what's actually happening

Leigh Brasington's Web Site