The 4 Stages of Awakening
(various opinions)
Stream EntererOnce ReturnerNon ReturnerFully Awakended
      Unshakable Peace (Snp, especially Snp 4.*)
"All that arises also ceases" (SN 56.11)     End of Dukkha (SN 56.11)
Unshakable faith     End of Craving (MN 26)
1st 3 fetters removed:
  • wrong view of self
  • efficacy of rites and rituals
  • skeptical doubt
  • 2 fetters weakened:
  • passion for pleasure (kāmarāga)
  • ill-will (vyāpāda)
  • 2 fetters removed:
  • passion for pleasure (kāmarāga)
  • ill-will (vyāpāda)
  • 5 "Higher" fetters removed:
  • passion for form
  • passion for formless
  • conceit
  • restlessness
  • ignorance (DN 16, MN 68)
  • "Blissful is detachment for one who is content,
    For one who has learned Dhamma and who sees"
    "Blissful is non-affliction in the world,
    Restraint towards living creatures"
        (i.e. would not harm another out of greed or aversion)
    "Blissful is passionlessness in the world,
    The overcoming of sensual desires"
        (i.e. would not harm oneself out of greed or aversion)
    "But the abolition of the conceit 'I am'
     -- That is truly the supreme bliss."
    (Ud 2.1)
        (i.e. no more conceiving of a self)
    16 Insight Knowledges with
    Mind Blink #1
    16 Insight Knowledges with
    Mind Blink #2
    16 Insight Knowledges with
    Mind Blink #3
    16 Insight Knowledges with
    Mind Blink #4 (Vsm)
    Deep experience of Not-Self resulting in
  • Unshakable faith in Buddha, Dhamma, Sangha
  • Possess morality dear to the Noble Ones [Can't (unknowingly?) break a precept?] (DN 16)
  •   5 types of non-returner
    (SN 46.3 - see especially Bhodi: footnote 65)
    "Birth is destroyed,
    the holy life has been lived,
    what need to be done has been done,
    there is no further suchness." (DN 9, etc.)
  • Keeps the 5 precepts
  • Unshakable faith in Buddha, Dhamma, Sangha
  • Possess virtuous behavior dear to the Noble Ones
    AN 5.179
  •     End of Greed, Hatred and Delusion
    For much more information, see Kim Allen's excellent book Practice After Stream Entry     Not entangled in views,
    Not harming oneself or others,
    Clearly seeing what's happening,
    Freed from sensual craving
        (Snp 1.8)
          Full penetration of the 4 Noble Truths:
  • Understand
  • Abandon
  • Realize
  • Develop   (SN 56.11)
  •       Ending of the Asavas:
  • Sense Pleasure intoxication
  • Becoming intoxication
  • {View intoxication}
  • Ingorance intoxication (DN 2, etc.)
  •     One will think whatever thought one wishes to think and one will not think any thought that one does not wish to think. One has severed craving, flung off the fetters, and with the complete penetration of conceit one has made an end of dukkha. (MN 20)
        One has an equanimous mind – indifferent to praise or blame – is calm, and free from pride (Sn.702). One has renounced desire for sensual pleasures and developed empathy for others (Sn.704–5). Consequently, one does not kill or cause to kill. One is of modest needs and without covetousness (Sn.707). Moreover, one is as sharp ‘as a razor’s edge’. One should neither have an inactive mind nor think too much (Sn.716). ‘One should be without taints, not dependent, having holy living as his aim’ (Sn.717). One should train oneself in solitude (Sn.718) since ‘the state of being alone is called sagehood’. One is knowingly self-restrained and speaks little (Sn.723). Sutta Nipata 3.11, part 2

    The Sutta List of Ten Fetters
    Back to Essays
    Back to Leigh's Home Page Site Map                   Site Search 

    Permalink [] Hosted by Host
    Leigh Brasington / EmailAddr / Revised 02 Feb 23